Quiet

Quiet, peaceful, silent, alone.  Have you ever driven in a big city with fast moving cars on some many lanes you did not dare leave your own?  At the end of your travels your knuckles are white and your neck and shoulders are so tense you need massage therapy.  Most of us live everyday like that.

I had an rare opportunity this summer to totally shut the world off.  I attended a week long retreat to learn a new skill.  It was a “go at your own pace” seminar.  Everything was taken care of.  I knew no one in attendance and it was a small group.  For one week I just worked on my new skill.  The environment was tranquil with no pressure, expectations or deadlines.  I had never experienced what it was like to truly shut the world off for just a few days and be quiet.  My mind and soul were so peaceful when I left.  It was amazing the thinking I got done and the thoughts that I allowed myself to listen to.  This taught me that I have to unplug and be quiet.  Before I head in any new direction I have to listen to myself. Life is short and I have spent a lot of it doing what others wanted and expected me to do. I now have an opportunity to do for myself,  but I have to be quiet first.

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

