Tennis Anyone?

Tennis has been the one sport I have been obsessed with.  Growing up I did no sports, at all.  Picking up a tennis racquet “later” in life presents many challenges, especially when your opponent is 20 something years of age!  If you grew up playing tennis you have a very different game. You have a beautiful stroke, natural rhythm and fast feet. I have worked hard and have improved over the years.

This weekend I agreed to play in a ProAm tournament.  Each of the “amateur” players were paired with either a real pro (i.e., teaching tennis) or a college tennis player.  Why did I do this you ask?  Good question!  I asked myself that several times during the weekend!!  Especially when I could not return the opposing pro’s serve!  Surprisingly, my partner and I were only a tiebreak away from going to the semifinals!  So much fun!! I really believe it is good to put myself “in the hotspot” every once in awhile. Putting yourself under that kind of pressure (lots of people are watching) makes you work on your focus skills, breathing skills, and mental toughness skills. High pressure games like this required one to stay under control. I definitely have a new appreciation for what these kids playing college tennis and the pro tennis players go through.  Not easy!

The thing I was surprised about was what I really took away from the weekend.  My partner was a freshman college student from England.  She is just starting her second semester at a college here in the U.S. I brought her a “welcome and thank you” bag full of things from iconic places where I live.  Nothing fancy.  I was stunned at how much that meant to her.  She is so homesick and to have somebody do something special “just for her” was beyond words.  She was teary eyed!  We had such a great time during the weekend and she said it really helped her get back into the new semester. If you ever get a chance to host one of these tennis players or get a chance to play in a ProAm take advantage.  It is so much more than tennis.  However, I also learned that tennis will be marked off of my list of “possible things to be” during my next phase of life! It will stay strictly recreational!

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

