The Package Arrived!

I don’t know many people that will get excited about a new spice arriving in a small box. But, I am SO excited! Smoked paprika! Hot paprika! Yes, I am the last one to learn about this incredible spice. But, now I know!

Since becoming an empty nester I have taken a new and different interest in cooking. No longer bound by what my children like or don’t like, schedules and time limitations, I cook when I want and what I want. Well, I do try to keep my husband fed. He is not demanding when it comes to meals. He can always find something to eat and never expects me to cook. I have always enjoyed cooking, I am from the south! Everybody cooks in the south (or they use to). I grew up with the weekly Sunday roast, rice and gravy. A hot meal was on the table every night. As a Mother, I tried to follow this tradition. With kids and busy schedules I put limitations on myself in the kitchen. Too bad.

Another friend of mind (told you they are doing amazing things) has taken her passion for cooking to a whole new level. She has traveled (and continues to do so) the world to learn cooking techniques of different cultures. She is now a chief who teaches. I am blessed to be able to take part in these classes. Last week she taught a breakfast class. In one of the dishes she used smoked and hot paprika. Oh my goodness was it good! Heaven!! I immediately went home and ordered this spice. I can’t wait to try my hands at this dish.

They say, associate with people you want to be like. She has been such an inspiration to me. I have a new love and desire to cook new and different things. Can I become a chief like her and teach? Uhm…..

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hello
    Great post. I like paprika on potato and egg salad especially😊
    Also exploring new cooking ideas.
    Donna

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful article and inspiration! A good quality paprika is a must have ingredient when it comes to grilling or smoking meat. I use it just about every time as part of a rub.

    Like

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

