Free Bagels

“You have one free bagel and this offer expires February 21st”. “Okay, thank you”.  “You have one free bagel and this offer expires February 21st”. “Okay, thank you”. Alright already! I know, I have to make a decision.

I am a lover of “frequent customer” freebies. But, only if I love what you are selling. If I am going to be in your  store a lot why would I not take free stuff,  or take your discount offer? In this day and age every penny counts. I get excited when I can say I saved $5.00 off cleaning or got my 12th “whatever” free. Sometimes it feels like a game and I just won!

That free bagel is haunting me. I am a carbohydrate addict. I should weigh 500 pounds.  Fortunately, I have been blessed with a good metabolism and I am a gym rat. So why am I not taking it? It’s free.  Well, it is the first of year and I am trying to eat healthy. It’s free. Well, it is going to sit in my stomach, expand and provide no nutrition. Oh, but piping hot, toasted with lots of butter on it will be heaven in my mouth!  And it is free. Maybe I can donate it to somebody. Or, I can ignore the offer. They remind you every time you come to visit. And if I ignore the offer why participate in the program? I could take the bagel home and freeze it. You will either eat it later from the freezer or you will have to throw it away the next time you clean out the freezer. One more thing to throw away. Maybe they will swap it for a free cup of coffee.  Sorry it is against policy. Okay, I have until the 21st of February to make a decision. Ugh, never mind. It was sooo good!

One thing I know for sure. Even though I love to cook and bake I do not want to have to get up early and say “it is time to make the doughnuts”.  That career option is definitely not for me!

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Just take the bagel. Don’t question karma 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post!!! I’ve been craving bagels! It’s alright to reward yourself from time to time. I plan “cheat meals” for that reason alone so I can have my mac and cheese, pizza, and bagels. If you have three weeks that’s at least 3 cheat meals. 🙂

    Something I love to do I when you go to some places [cough….Panera…cough] they offer you a bakery item for $0.99 when you buy “You Pick Two.” I buy it but when they hand me the ticket to choose the bakery item later I hand it back and ask them to give it to another customer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

