I AM GONNA MAKE IT

I take a Barre class twice a week.  Now this is not a ballet class.  But, it does utilize similar techniques depending on the instructor.  Today we had a substitute who I believe has a ballet background.  She really makes me feel like a dancer before the class is over.  Barre class requires good balance.  This is an area I have really worked on and improved in.  Yea me!

When you go to the same gym for as long as I have you get to know, or recognize, the members.  For awhile I was noticing an elderly gentleman, whom I had spoken to before, watching and trying to follow the class.  But, he was outside the classroom watching through the glass windows.  I kept encouraging him to come inside and join us.  Well, he has started coming inside and joining us.  Just the nicest man with the most genuine smile and twinkle in his eyes.  He is definitely a regular.  Today in class someone said to him, “I can’t believe you are 86!”. “Yes, I am” he said and laughed.  His birthday was this week.  After class he comes over to me and says that he is improving on his balance moves but, it is really hard for him.  He then laughs and says, “maybe by the time I hit 100 I will have it down”!  What an inspiration!  I have always thought and I know I will live to be 100.  He has just reminded me that you just have to keep showing up everyday and trying.  He has a goal in mind and I bet he is around at 100!

I always wanted to be a ballerina.  The closest I have come is driving my two daughters back and forth for years to ballet lessons.  Maybe it is my turn?  Could I be the next prima ballerina?  Well, maybe not. But  dancing may be in my future!

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Have you tried red hot dance or Zumba yet? My Y Added a barre class. But during times I can’t make it. 😦

    Like

  2. I also enjoy fitness classes. I have done Barre work before and always feel graceful and lean at the end.

    I love that you took the initiative to invite the older gentleman to class 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post – and congratulations on being Blog of the week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

