Not Too Serious Please

Someone once said there is no such thing as luck. Rather it is preparedness meeting opportunity. I totally get that and agree. All of the things I have done in my life have brought me to this point. Through my education, life experiences and my interest I am prepared and ready for my next “opportunity”. Even the smallest things I have accomplished or failed at have contributed to the skillset I presently have. I am waiting……

The latest opportunity I have had is in the film/music industry. Surprisingly, I have some skills I can offer to this industry! Yesterday, I had the pleasure of participating in the filming of an interview with Jill Donovan, the founder of Rustic Cuffs. If you have not had the pleasure of wearing one of her pieces, you must go to her website and check it out. She is also in about 250 stores nationwide. Oprah is wearing one of her cuffs in the cover of the latest issue of “O” magazine. I had read an article about her a few months ago and was so intrigued with her story. Needless to say, I was so excited to meet her and watch this filming! Jill is hilarious! I couldn’t believe how funny she is. She is humble. She makes you feel like she is your neighbor and she just came over for coffee. When asked what she would tell someone trying to start out, she replied, to do what you love and do it well. Don’t compare your journey to anyone else’s. Yours is unique. How she arrived at her present success is a wonderful example of not being too serious. She has the ability to laugh and have fun while building a business that is growing faster than she ever expected. And she does not have structured expectations with her journey. She is opened to new things everyday. However, she is a very hard worker and sacrificed to get where she is today. She believed in herself and once she made a decision she never looked back. She is also a very generous person who gives back.

I left the filming with a renewed spirit and hopefulness. I know there is another exciting journey that awaits me and I am excited to discover it. I just need to keep my eyes and heart open and believe in myself just like Jill did!

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

