A Little Piece of Heaven

image

Everyone has their own definition of “heaven”. Well, when I die there will be more of this cake waiting for me!   My daughter and I stumbled upon an eatery named “Cakes and Ale”.  On the other side of the restaurant there is a small addition where coffee, wine and dessert is served. This is a piece of their lemon cake. It is actually a white cake with lemon filling or maybe it is lemon curd.  Unbelievable cake! The icing is somewhere between a heavy buttercream and a whipped cream. It is light and I could have eaten a bowl of just the icing. You will notice fresh vanilla bean in the icing. The texture of the cake is perfect; not too moist and not dry. And the coffee is really smooth, not too strong and definitely no bitter after taste. I asked about the baker and they said they now have a full running bakery named “Proof” in another location.  They told me the name of the baker and said she is “truly gifted”. They were selling beautiful loaves of bread which would have come home with me if I had not been traveling. The cafe is beautiful with brick interior and tall windows. The wait staff is friendly and vey efficient. I could have sat there for a long time. So relaxing!

I truly appreciate a good dessert made on site or almost on site. I have always thought there is a “bakery in the sky” that most restaurants buy desserts from. To find a bakery or cafe with a creative baker is exciting and intriguing. It is a form of art, only with food. Baking seems to keep calling me. It goes on my list again.

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

