Random Acts of Kindness

I achieved my goal! I am so excited!  This year I performed random acts of kindness equivalent to my age. I won’t share the number, but let’s just say it was a lot.

I can’t take credit for the original idea. Last year a friend  of mine turned 50. I had no idea she was doing this. In a conversation she was talking about taking the airline stewart’s something. I asked why and she proceeded to tell me that she had decided  to do 50 random acts of kindness. I was so intrigued with the idea that I decided to set the goal of random acts of kindness equal to my age.

I started recording my acts of kindness by month. Now, these had to be true acts of random kindness. Good manners did not count. I would tally up the numbers every month. When I looked back I was surprised to see how much time lapsed between the acts. As the year started winding down I really had to get into action. I was also surprised at the difficulty. I really had to keep this goal in the fore front. But it was so worth it! People really appreciated my kindness and I felt like I had made a little difference for someone for a day.

I wish more people would set this goal for themselves. Can you imagine how much kinder the world could be? It makes you look outside yourself and search for opportunities to help someone or to be kind to someone. You forget to worry about your own problems and focus on others.

As as another New Year approaches I don’t know that I will tag a number to my acts of kindness. However, this is something I can do and will do. I will continue to  be a kinder person next year. Won’t you join me?

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Just dropping by to say happy new year! Come visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good job Barbara! I know I’ve received a few of those random acts from you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Local Girl Foreign Land

Explore. Laugh. Repeat.

Food for a Year:

"It's going to be a great year!"

Of A Life Less Ordinary

Poetry. Stories. Musing.

Cathy Lynn Brooks

Let me tell you Justine's story

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

The Leather Marshmallow

South African fashion & travel blog

